Dear Parents and Swimmers

In the next academic year Shrewsbury International School will be introducing the Swim England Learn to Swim Awards to the You Time Swimming Program.  Learn to Swim Awards 1-7

The Learn to Swim Awards 1-7 are divided into progressive stages. They make up the core, national syllabus of learning to swim for primary school aged children.

They are designed to reward your child for their development of the essential aquatic skills they need to be confident, competent and safe in the water.

Each of the Learn to Swim Awards 1-7 stages has a list of clear outcomes that need to be completed in order to gain each award.

Swimmers will be able to join the You Time Swimming Program once they have achieved Stage 2 in their PE swimming lesson. For block 1 any new swimmers or swimmers who did not attend block 4 in June and therefore have not had a swimming assessment can book into an assessment between Wednesday 30th August – Friday 1st September.


This programme not only teaches a child to swim using the four strokes. It also gives them a number of other skills, which when put together, give children the ability to do a range of other water-based sports.

The Swim England Learn to Swim Framework gives children confidence in their ability to swim. From this comes more enjoyment of swimming, a love for swimming and being in the water and the skills and motivation required to lead a healthy and active lifestyle through regular swimming through to their adult life.

Fun and Games with the Learn to Swim Framework

The easiest way for a child to learn a new skill is through fun and games. This Framework still has a high focus on having fun and enjoying being in the water.

It takes a games-led approach to learning to swim, and gives the core aquatic skills needed to become competent swimmers. These are:

  1. Entry
  2. Exits
  3. Floatation and Balance
  4. Rotation and Orientation
  5. Streamlining
  6. Aquatic Breathing
  7. Travel and Coordination
  8. Water Safety
  9. Health and Fitness

By learning and then mixing together these skills, a child will be able to understand the processes needed to swim all of the four strokes; front crawl, backstroke, breaststroke and butterfly.

More details about the framework are available here: 

Swim England Aquatic Skills Framework (Learn to Swim Stages 8-10) are about building sport specific skills to encourage focus on aquatic sports, swimmers can achieve stages 8-10 in swimming, diving, waterpolo, synchronised swimming and waterpolo. As the program develops we hope to be able to offer the full spectrum of awards.

Stage 8 together with the required entry times will be entry point to the Swimming Team at Shrewsbury International School, please bear with us as we ensure all swimmers are in the correct groups over the coming You Time blocks.

The timetable for 2017/2018 is available here:

Swim groups:

For current EY2 swimmers who would like to join the swimming program next year, to ensure a fair allocation of the available sessions the sign up will be available as follows:

  Monday Wednesday
Block 1 1SW 1SN
Block 2 1LJ 1JS
Block 3 1NM Open (Any class)
Block 4 Open (Any class) Open (Any class)

Days have been selected to ensure there are no clashes with PE swimming lessons.

At the top end of the program we have created two new squads gold squad and black squad, swimmers in these squads will require t-shirt, shorts and trainers and will undertake land training as part of their sessions.

Swimmers who wish to represent Shrewsbury International School at any competitive events will be required to attend a minimum of 2 sessions per week (3 for black squad).

The current competitive program is available below – please note new competitions will be added to the program throughout the year.

Please do not hesitate to contact myself or the Activities Office with any questions you may have regarding the new swimming program.

Kindest Regards

Mrs Gill